Welcome to volleyball.com. We carry a complete line volleyball apparel.  Volleyball.com has socks, jerseys, shorts, compression, warmups, motivational t-shirts, team apparel, and referee apparel. From the serious weekend player to the most dedicated coach, volleyball.com has all the best products and information to enhance your game.
Volleyball.Com: volleyball equipment, clothes, shoes and rules for beach, indoor, pictures, camps, court products, nets and leagues.
Volleyball.Com - Browse through Stories and Tips, Volleyball Drills, Rules of Volleyball, Enhance you skills, Learn new strategies, Training Techniques, Sports Injuries, Build a Court, Learn the Terms, History of Volleyball, Photo Gallery, Calendar of Events, Polls, News Mailing, Slime Volleyball, Flash Volleyball, Volleyball Gifts
Volleyball.Com Home Page Volleyball.Com Site Map Volleyball.Com - FREE volleyball.com email address Shop Volleyball Equipment - Balls, Nets, Shoes, Pads, Socks and more!
We carry a complete line of both indoor and outdoor gear. From the serious weekend player to the most dedicated coach, volleyball.com has all the best products and information to enhance your game.
 
 
Get all your volleyball gear, volleyball shoes, volleyball socks, volleyball shirts, volleyball shorts, volleyball equipment and volleyballs at Volleyball.Com
Volleyball.Com on Facebook

Username:
Password:

Forum.Volleyball.Com >> Main Forums >> General Volleyball Topics >> when is it ok to touch the net?
when is it ok to touch the net?
Author Topic
Lana


Member

Join Date: 3/12/2008
Posts: 0

Posted: 9/25/2008 1:39:10 AM

I've always been confused about this topic. When you go up to block and the other side hits the ball into the net and the net touches you, is that legal? or do your fingers have to be in the net?
OmniSpiker


Member

Join Date: 11/20/2006
Posts: 0

Posted: 9/25/2008 1:53:09 PM

It is confusing because the situation that we have to be clear about is whether it's the final (third) team ball contact or not. Chances are that if it's the third team contact and ball is driven into net, there's very little chance for a net fault by opposing team.

To not be a net fault basically means that there's no way a net touch would be possible if the net was not moved.
Chauntikleer


Active Member

Join Date: 10/10/2006
Posts: 17

Posted: 9/27/2008 7:10:14 AM

[quote=100827]I've always been confused about this topic. When you go up to block and the other side hits the ball into the net and the net touches you, is that legal? or do your fingers have to be in the net? [/quote]

FIVB Rule 11.3.3 states, "When the ball is driven into the net and causes it to touch an opponent, no fault is committed."

So, if the ball is hit into the net and causes the net to touch a blocker, it is not a fault - regardless of how many contacts the other team has made when they hit the ball into the net.

I've found that there are a lot of misconceptions about the net rules; FIVB Rule 11.3.1 states, "Contact with the net by a player is not a fault, unless it is made during the action of playing the ball, or it interferes with the play."

In other words, touching the net in and of itself is not a fault - it is only when a player contacts the net in the act of playing the ball that a fault is committed.

For example, if a hitter snags the net during their follow-through, it's a net fault. If a blocker touches the net in the act of blocking (other than when the ball drives the net into the blocker), it's a net fault.

However, if the blocker lands from their block, and their hair or shoulder scrapes the net while they are turning to assume their attacking position, this is *not* a net fault, because the net touch was not in the act of playing the ball (the act of playing the ball in this case is the block, and the block is complete once they land).

Check out the FIVB casebook (http://www.fivb.org/TheGame/Rules.htm), which gives some actual examples from world-class matches.


Oh, and it doesn't matter what part of you touches the net - if you're in the act of playing the ball, brushing the net with the tip of your left pinky is as much of a fault as getting your whole arm tangled in the net :laughing:
Lana


Member

Join Date: 3/12/2008
Posts: 0

Posted: 9/29/2008 2:02:53 PM

that makes a lot more sense now. Thanks guys!!
lotusvball


Member

Join Date: 12/9/2008
Posts: 1

Posted: 12/9/2008 7:11:53 PM

What is the rule on contact with the net after the ball is down. As I understand the rule, if your act of play on the ball takes you into the net it is a fault no matter if the contact with the net is made after the ball has landed in the opponents playing area. Or is the ball down and the play over, no net fault.


Ezra


Very Active Member


Join Date: 11/12/2006
Posts: 148
Location: Brisbane

Posted: 4/11/2009 5:14:08 PM

a rally of volleyball finishes the moment a fault is whistled by a referee. If the referee has whistled the ball as down... then that is the first fault. Any fault after this doesn't count as the play is over.
TomHouser


Active Member


Join Date: 1/21/2007
Posts: 25
Location: Roanoke, VA

Posted: 4/15/2009 4:14:51 PM

If you're playing under the National Federation rule book, any touch of the net while the ball is in play is a violation. Our middle and high schools here in Virginia use the NF rule book. So, find out what rules you're playing under.

For example, if you're playing club ball, and your fingers are in the net while your teammate is serving, no violation. However, if you're playing school ball in Virginia, that same situation IS a violation.

There are several dozen rule differences when you change from NF to USAV to NCAA to FIVB. Ask you coach to discuss them with you, or go to a rules clinic, etc. The USAV used to have a webpage where they listed the differences in the rules books. It was a great site! I don't know if they still have it or not.


Coach Tom Houser
Director, STAR Volleyball Site Camps.
Author "I Can't Wait" Drill Collection and Ebooks
Head Coach, NRV 16 Nationals, Roanoke, Va
http://www.coachhouser.com
vball*godess220


Active Member

Join Date: 8/10/2009
Posts: 11
Location: U.S.A.

Posted: 8/21/2009 5:44:53 PM

my coaches told me that the only time when you cant touch the net is when you are blocking...when your hands are up you cant let them touch the net or its an automatic point to the other team...but when the ball falls into the net and you go to hit it and touch the net its legal. :)

Ezra


Very Active Member


Join Date: 11/12/2006
Posts: 148
Location: Brisbane

Posted: 8/23/2009 7:31:55 PM

Yeah that's right vball*godess220, with the new FIVB rules that's fine, even with blocking you can touch the mesh of the net, just not the tape or the antenna above the tape
iheartvball!


Member

Join Date: 10/1/2009
Posts: 9

Posted: 10/1/2009 4:09:23 PM

only if you touch the net when your spiking





Home  |  Shop Volleyball.Com  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  News  |  Links  |  Volleyball Products  |  Free Email  |  Forums  |  Contact Us Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions
© Copyright 2011. Volleyball.Com. All rights reserved.