EMAIL QUESTIONS & FEEDBACK
Rules of Volleyball
>> Rule on double hit fault
Rule on double hit fault
Join Date: 7/10/2007
Posted: 7/10/2007 11:27:47 PM
If a player contacts the ball in an upward motion (i.e., a "bump") and on its travel upward the ball touches the brim of the player's hat/visor, is this a fault? We have one judge calling this "incidental contact" and one calling it a double hit. The rule 13.5.4 states " .... or the ball touches various parts of his/her body successively". The real question is whether or not the player's hat is part of his/her body, as the rule does not say " ... body or uniform ... ".
Thanks for your help!
Join Date: 11/20/2006
Posted: 7/11/2007 2:12:40 PM
Your uniform, your hair, your shoes, are all part of your body. If you wear a hat, then that becomes part of your body. Keep in mind for USAV indoor, there are no hats.
double hits are faults.
9.3.4 DOUBLE CONTACT: a player hits the ball twice in
succession or the ball contacts various parts of his/
her body in succession.
13.5.4 is that NFHS?
The exceptions to that rule are:
first contact with only one action
bottom line, referrees judge the actions in hitting the ball. Incidental/negligible contacts are judgment calls. You really have to see the contact to say it's a contact. To apply a double hit fault, is to apply the rules correctly. Rule 9 Playing the Ball.
9.2 CHARACTERISTICS OF THE HIT
9.2.1 The ball may touch any part of the body.
9.2.2 The ball must be hit, not caught and/or thrown. It
can rebound in any direction.
9.2.3 The ball may touch various parts of the body, provided
that the contacts take place simultaneously.
184.108.40.206 At blocking, consecutive contacts may be
made by one or more blocker(s), provided
that the contacts occur during one action.
220.127.116.11 At the first hit of the team, the ball may
contact various parts of the body consecutively,
provided that the contacts occur
during one action.
Join Date: 7/10/2007
Posted: 7/12/2007 12:20:59 PM
Very Active Member
Join Date: 11/12/2006
Posted: 7/20/2007 4:56:35 AM
You could go for spectacular play!!! :cool:
Maybe on a full stretch dive or something sensational the referee may over look the second touch....
Other than that, it's a double.
Terms & Conditions
© Copyright 2011. Volleyball.Com. All rights reserved.